colleenanne

Saturday, February 24, 2001

This is kinda funny.

A few years ago, me and my then-boyfriend Keith went to a Tori Amos show in Washington DC. We went there the day before, and stayed with a girl he knew from online, Nicole. I'd never heard of her, but she was a really gracious host and had the best sofa bed I've ever slept on. hehe. The next day we went to the Tori show (which was wonderful), and it was a good time (until the next day when I got dumped. However, not too much later I realized that that was a good thing.)

Flip forward to later that year. I join Purple People, a Tori Amos mailing list. Nicole is on it. I never was very active on the list, but I knew who she was and stuff. I eventually stopped reading the list, because I never felt like I fit in or anything, and some of the people got on my nerves. So I've fallen out of touch with most of those people.

Yesterday, I got an email... from Nicole. She was reading through bloggers, clicked through a link, and found me. The odd thing was is that she knew this person from something Kids in the Hall-related. Evidently, I was linked from someone named Tara. I guess she got my link from Sarah's blogger, who is also a big Kids in the Hall fan. :)

*sings "It's a Small World"*

Anyhow, I thought that was cool. Nicole is a really cool chick, and I'm glad to get to know her a bit better. :)

In other news, not much has been going on lately. My dad's in town this weekend. Every year, they hold a Whitewater Film Festival in Lexington at the Univ. of KY College of Nursing. So he comes and stays here, and buys me food and assorted sundries. We had Mark's Feed Store for dinner (it's a BBQ restaurant.) It was really really yummy. Where else can you have deep-fried corn on the cob?

A funny happening... I was talking to Beth.. and she's talking about her anthropology class, in which they've been discussing cannibalism. The prof was saying that in some symbolic way, Catholicism is cannibalistic, being they eat the body and drink the blood of Christ. She'd been wanting to tell this to everyone. "Catholics are cannibals!" I mentioned this to Jay.. his response? "Mmm. Jesus."

I thought it was funny, at least. hehe. I hope no one is offended. ;)

The other day was Scott and Michele's baby shower. It was co-ed, which I liked, since I don't like girls much. hehe. I won a picture frame and a cool Jewish candle (normally, I wouldn't say that candles have a religion, but it's blue and silver and in the shape of a Star of David.) It was really weird.. it just kinda scared me.. there was a coloring contest (which was called off due to lack of prizes.. they're just going to put the pictures in the baby book), and Scott colored a picture. He signed it "Daddy." *goes into convlusions*

Anastasia's been playing tag with me lately. It's cute. She runs up and kinda swats at me, and runs away. She also plays fetch. I have a cool cat.

I don't get to see Jay this weekend. :( That makes me sad. However, I will see him all next weekend! YAY! I love him.

And that's all I have to say for now. hehe.

Monday, February 19, 2001

Just for the record: Shadow of the Vampire was a BORING movie. I don't care what reviews say, it was a waste of time. With that said...

Saturday I went to Florence to visit Jay and such. We went to Ground Round for lunch (he treated me in honor of Valentine's Day), and later to a (bad) Chinese buffet (bad because it was old food. hehe. If it was fresh, it would have been yummy.) We had coffee at Barnes and Nobles, and hung around his house. Later that night, we played Beyond Balderdash. In the game, you're given a word, name, date, movie title, acronym, and you have to create a definition for it. All the players do this, and then you vote on which one is the right one (which has been thrown into the mix).. well, we played on Saturday night. I was having a little trouble reading Angie's (aka Jay's mommy) handwriting the first round, and I was hoping to be more careful the second round (if you read it wrong, and fix it, it's obvious it's not your handwriting or something.) So.. anyhow, in this one particular round, we had to define a word (which I don't remember.) I went to read the results, and read Angie's: "The organization that trains German shiplords for police agencies". I had no clue what it meant, and I was just reading what was on the sheet. She starts laughing in the middle of it, and I can't figure out why. Then it hits me: I should have said German SHEPHERD. And I started laughing. And I could not STOP. Eventually, it started hurting. My whole torso was cramped, and I couldn't get a deep breath. I thought I was gonna die. And it didn't help that Jay started doing his German Shiplord impression. hehe. (Ok, just reminiscing about it is hurting...) It was amusing, but oh-so-painful.

In other news.. last night I had a horrible dream. In the dream, me and Aimee were both going back to school, and we impulsively decided to move back into the dorms. I very soon realize that this is a very bad idea.. what are we going to do with our furniture? The cat? What if guys want to visit us at night? So I have to convince her that moving is bad. But we've already paid for it and have roommates. In the dream, I kept wondering if this were real or a dream. So I'd think, "No, this is definitely real!" Then I'd realize it was a dream. Then I'd know it was real again. In the end, I was annoyed with Aimee because she moved all her stuff.

Some recent cd purchases (or cds I got as gifts):


And that's all, folks.

Thursday, February 15, 2001

OK, so I've tried to post recently.

Blogger's just a bitch.

So what's been up lately?

Valentine's Day. Non-eventful. hehe. Me and Aims saw Saving Silverman. It was ok. I've seen funnier.

I also saw Dude, Where's Your Car? for $1 and I liked it. It was funny.
I'm so ashamed.

I'm concerned that Jay won't get stuff done in time for UK's financial aid office. I hope he does!

Ok, in case you didn't see this below, I've updated my website.

Check it out. Sign my guestbook. Love me.

C-Clamps are what life's all about. They're keeping my wrists from falling off. Stupid carpal tunnel.

I feel bad because I have nothing to say.

Today is rainy and grey and I want to be home snuggling with my kittycat and watching TV. That'd be nice. But NO... I'm here. Blah. hehe.

bye.














Friday, February 09, 2001

I'm such a slacker.

Well, I've updated my personal website. Click here to see it.

Um, I'll post more later, really. hehe.