colleenanne

Tuesday, March 27, 2001

This weekend was fun.

Jay was tired, unfortunately. Working nights will do that.

Nicole, if you're reading this, I owe you an email. I'll get to that. Trust me, there are some things in your last email that I must respond to. I'm sure you can guess what.

My sister is already moving back. GAH. Something must be done. I'm unendingly frustrated.

The guy on TV, Bob Mckeown, has crooked nostrils. It's very odd.

Whatever, for now. Not much to say.

Jay has a habit of adding, "... just curious" to questions he asks, especially when it's not information he really needs to know.

So Saturday, we're at dinner with his mom. She's a nursing student, and has been taking pre-natal and neo-natal classes, and we were talking about this. Jay says, "How many extra calories does someone who's pregnant have to take in a day? Just curious."

Hehe. The way he said it, it sounded like his "just curious" was to assure her that he wasn't pregnant.

It made me laugh.

Tuesday, March 20, 2001

The huge, wet first-day-of-spring snowflakes
hit my window
with an obscene splat.

Monday, March 19, 2001

Last Monday I flew to Birmingham and back with work. It was so much fun. (the flying, not the Birmingham part). I love taking off so much. Someday, I will have my pilot's license, mark my words.

This past weekend some of my friends from home (e.g. WV) visited. My cousin Emily, Craig, Andrew, and Jason all came up for the weekend. On Friday night, the guys went to A Perfect Circle concert in Louisville, and me and Emily saw Traffic. You haven't lived until you've seen Topher Grace from That 70's Show as a cokehead. And what a cute cokehead he makes. Really, though, it was a very thought-provoking movie. I recommend it. [And just because I thought Dude Where's My Car was amusing doesn't mean I have no taste in movies. (On a side note, about That 70's Show, Fez is pretty hot when not in character. And can you believe that this is Tommy Chong of Cheech and Chong fame?)]

Anyhow, I digress...

So Emily was here, and we saw Traffic. The next day, we all went to Ryan's for lunch, and then to Liquor Barn (this seems to be a necessary visit for all visitors to Lexington, through Craig. Even if they don't buy anything. *shakes head* I like the pretty bottles, myself.) Then Best Buy, and later to Laser Quest. I scored in the top half of people playing! WHOO HOO! That's new to me. I usually score in the bottom quarter.

I made a late dinner of spaghetti and meatballs, and the ensuing mess took me an hour to clean the next day. I also wanted to make sure that Emily's pink eye didn't infect me. hehe. However, I am sick. I don't know if that came from my weekend visitors, or being cooped up in a plane with Jason from work, who was sick last week. Eh, whatever. I'll live. I'm wary of taking more antibiotics, b/c it's had some bad after-effects the past few times I've taken them. I'll try to weather it out for awhile. Claritin-D, take me away!

I saw Monkeybone last week, and I really liked it. I find stupid Brendan Fraser movies endearing, for some reason. I recommend it. Dave Foley is hilarious, too. With his little naked butt.

What else has been going on? Hmm. On April 6th, Jay and I celebrate our one year anniversary. Wow. One year. Officially my longest relationship. With Sam, it ended somewhere between eight months and one year, but really, nothing much was going on after about eight months due to his.. um.. outside interests, shall we say. And I guess outside of the length of time, my relationship with Jay really isn't comparable with my relationship with Sam. It's been so much more balanced and free of conflict and pain. I'm so grateful to have Jay in my life. Not only do I have a best friend, but a romantic relationship as well. Ahh, love. Not the schmaltzy kind that you read about in magazines, but something based more on friendship and respect, with some of the scmaltzy stuff thrown in for fun. Ok. Enough cheese here.

Throat sore. Ow.

In other news.. my sister is moving back to Pennsylvania. She's going to babysit the two kids that live in the apartment she was staying in before while the parents work. My sister, a babysitter. That's.. Um.. .scary. I'm sure she'll be back home soon. I'll have to make it a point to visit while she's gone. It's been almost four months since I've been to WV, I think. I feel bad about not visiting, but I can't handle her. I'll have to wait until I feel better, though. I'm not going to give this to my parents. Mom's sick enough already.

Ok, back to the whole "love" concept. I feel like babbling (hence, the name of this blog.) My ideas of love have changed over the past few years. Before, I think I mixed up love with something else. I mean... I liked the idea of love so much, I was willing to apply it to any situation I was in. I mean, not that all the people that I applied this to weren't worthy of affection, and it was love, to a degree. But I gave it too much... credit. I let it run my life, take over my thoughts, etc. It wasn't part of my life, it was my life. That makes no sense.. why should how I feel about someone else be who I am? That's just too big of a variable. How someone else feels about you becomes your measure of self-worth, and that is so completely unhealthy. That's like saying, "Today the weather will measure how good I feel about myself." You have no control over that. I think you have to be ok with who you are to be able to be in a healthy relationship. It took me three years of therapy to reach that point, and to overcome dysthymic depression, but I got there and now I feel like I have a positive enough outlook on life to be able to share who I am without losing who I am. I'm not part of some monster-couple that becomes one, I'm part of a couple that exists of two separate people that have a great deal of admiration and respect for one another. Before, I needed something in my life to focus on... a crush, a relationship, anything. It was only after things didn't work with my last crush that I realized, "I don't need to focus on something arbitrary." My life was my focus. Not someone else's life. I think I'm being redundant, but that's ok. Which brings me to my cookie analogy. Love is like cookies. There are a thousand different types of cookies.. there are the store-bought, mass-produced ones.. they taste ok for awhile, and can be consumed in mass quantities.. but given the choice, would you rather have a yummy home-made cookie or something from the Nabisco aisle at Kroger? A good cookie is a mixture of alot of things... flour, butter, sugar, chocolate, etc. Each different ingredient brings something different to the cookie, and to leave one out gives the cookie a completely different flavor. If I put in aspartame instead of sugar, it's going to be gross. The first bite will tell me that. If I left out the butter, it'll be dry and without substance. Some people pass those cookies off as the real thing... they don't realize that better cookies are out there until they've seen the real thing. This analogy is getting worse and worse, but.. hehe. I'll leave it here anyhow. I'm just happy to have a great cookie recipe now, and a wonderful person to share the cookies with.

ok. I should go get something done and stop rambling. I hope everyone's having a happy week.







Thursday, March 08, 2001

This morning I found $20 in my corduroy coat pocket when searching for change for a soda. Whoo hoo!
Actually, I found $21. hehe.

It amazes me how much I can get done in a short period when I'm on a restrictive deadline. I pretty much finished the Corman & Associates site in half an hour earlier, b/c they were coming here for a meeting.

So now I blog. hehe.

Hmm... what's happened lately? Jay was here last weekend, and that was great. I did kind of suffer the post-Jay letdown when he was home. I really missed him. But it was great having him here. He beat me at Trivial Pursuit twice. That's just not right. I'm supposed to win at Trivial Pursuit, and him at checkers. Last weekend it was reversed. We tried to go see a dollar movie, but the stupid line was backed all the way down the sidewalk, so we decided against it.

Me, Aimee, Liz, and Patrick are going to go see Ani Difranco on April 17th in Louisville. That rocks, she's someone on my list of artists to see in the future. However, Guster's also playing in Cincinnati on the same day. :( I will not get to see them, alas. At least I don't have to drive to Louisville, though. I'm making Liz. She has a new car now. It's PAYBACK TIME! hehe.

My parent's cruise that they were going on at the end of this month got cancelled. It all seems a little sketchy.. it was through Norweigian Cruise Lines, and they wanted like a million and one medical releases for mom, and then they cancelled it because they "Never received their check." Um. Whatever. I'm attempting to help them find another.

I fly to Birmingham, Alabama Monday for work. We're going up and back on the same day in the company jet. (well, it kind of is, technically. It's my boss' plane, owned through his other company, Morningstar Aviation.) We're presenting a proposal for people that move rocks. I hesitate to say who, just yet, because I know we've signed a non-disclosure agreement. It's a huge, beautifully run company. Compared to other large companies we've worked with, at least. I had to buy a new outfit for the trip. I'm hard to fit for pants, so I thought it'd be a pain... but NO... I found two pairs of pants (one which I plan to return, they were $30 at Old Navy, and while that's not bad, the others were like $10 a Target. I love Target.) I couldn't find an appopriate shirt, though, so I guess I'll shop for that this weekend. I found one cool shirt, but it had these really frou-frou sleeves that would not be business appopriate.

Reading about cruises for the 'rents really makes me realize I want to go on a vacation. I think I'd like to visit San Francisco. I wonder if there's anyway I could afford that this year. I doubt it. I need away from here badly. I should go home to WV for a weekend, but my sister's presence deters me a bit. Oh, well. I'll go somewhere this year. Darnit. I like to travel.. I just wish I had more the means to do so. I've been to Birmingham before, it's not very exciting. And I won't really get to go anywhere there, anyhow.

GAH! PROJECT MANAGER IS AN IDIOT! THE LAUGH! THE LAUGH!

I had to totally rewrite the proposal he wrote for the presentation we're doing in Birmingham. It was absolutely horrible. The man has an MBA, you'd think he'd know how to write an executive summary, for Pete's sake. How complicated is that? It's a summary. The definition of summary: Presenting the substance in a condensed form; concise. But... no, he took copy of our website (which is not appropriate style for a proposal as such.) UGH! I rewrote the entire proposal, and might I say, it kicked ass. I was proud of it. It did exactly what it was supposed to do. And the company it was for was really impressed. I'm so conceited. hehe. Nah, I just think I did a really good job. I can write, even if I don't always display my excessive talents in this particular medium.

I'm hungry, so I think I'll get lunch soon. I'm not sure what I'll have. Any ideas, email me or message me in the next five minutes. *giggle*

I will talk to you all later. hehehe.