colleenanne

Thursday, May 31, 2001

The heat in my office is broken. Normally, this wouldn't present a problem, because it's May. However, my office is solar-heated, by virtue of being in a corner and having six windows. It's overcast today, and that means it's darn cold. Brr.

Last night's dream (or at least bits and pieces):

Karen (from the OT list) and her family lived in Lexington. However, she looked nothign like she really does. I didn't talk to her much.

Then I get a note from Daylan (a guy I barely know, but he's friends with some of my friends.) "They're talking about you at Tico-Taco" where Daylan works (I've never seen a Tico-Taco in real life. I don't know if it's real or fake.) "Donna's saying bad things about you." I remember thinking, "Who the heck is Donna?" The only one I could remember was some girl on the Moxy Früvous newsgroup, who I know by name only. I go down there, to find out she's been talking trash about me. She's gone when I get there, but she's written stuff all over some promotion Tico-Taco sandwich board. Karen tried to resolve the situation, but I got mad and left.

Skip to later... I'm in a car with Karen, and we come to her house (in Lexington, although it looked like Florence). She tells me that her and the family have decided to move back to New Jersey. Someone drives up to look at their house (to buy it), and it's my old friend Orie Jason Stapleton. I go up and hug him, because I've missed him so. I then hug this girl with him without paying attention, assuming it's his wife, Becky. I then realize it's NOT Becky, but some Asian girl I do not know. I still hug her.

That's all I remember. But I need to find Jason.. I miss him. I realized that when I was so happy to see him in the dream.

Still, why was this Donna chick so down on me?

Wednesday, May 30, 2001

I'd forgotten just how much I love Watermelon Jolly Ranchers.
I do.

My co-worker, Ogre (real name: Chris. We have two Chris', and Ogre is a variation on his last name. And he's a big guy) gave me a watermelon Jolly Rancher sucker. I'm in heaven.

Tuesday, May 29, 2001

Sleep. The other white meat.

Ok, maybe not.

So I'm very tired. Again. I've been the living dead today. This weekend Jay and I went to WV to visit my family, friends, and Princess the doggie. I didn't get back here until 1:30 am last night, so a lot of sleep would not be mine. Anyhow, I digress. Let me try to do some of this stuff in order.

Wednesday was my birthday, on which I turned 25. A quarter of a century. That could be depressing or something, but it's not. I'm a few days older than 24. Maybe it'll bother me more next year, when I'm 26. I doubt it, though. I could be like my friend Heath's friend Aaron.. he had his 5th annual 25th birthday party this year.

On my birthday I got cookie cakes at work (big cake sized chocolate chip cookies with yummy icing). I went over to Liz and Patrick's to pick up my birthday presents, and then went to dinner at Bella Notte with my friends. Among those attending were Aimee, Anne-Marie, Steven, Jill, Jody, Shawn, Heath, and other Jay (not boyfriend Jay. Boyfriend Jay had to work that night.) It was a fun night, and I enjoyed myself.

Gifts I got for my birthday:
1) Jay: A music box. It's beautiful, Italian inlaid wood from the San Francisco Music Box Company, and it plays "When Irish Eyes Are Smiling."
2) My parents/grandma McClanahan: A gas grill. I have to actually buy this myself tomorrow. It was easier that way, I didn't have to cart the grill across WV and KY.
3) My sister, Shannon: A cute little purple keychain. We don't know if it's a cat, a mouse, or a bear. Regardless, it's adorable. It's on my backpack now.
4) Liz and Patrick: A Tori Amos single (Caught a Light Sneeze, one of the few I don't own but really want), and a Powerpuff Girls Bubbles blow-up thingamajig
5) Aimee: A ticket to Kings Island (we used that the weekend before last)
6) Anne-Marie: A very pretty glass flower. It's supposed to be hung up. I really need to get a nice shelf for that and the music box Jay got me.
7) Grandma Mooney: Money. hehe.

Saturday, Jay and I left for WV. We got there and went to River's Edge, a great restaurant at home (with Craig.) At River's Edge they bring you hush puppies and honeybutter before the meal, along with some spicy cabbage soup. It's an odd combination, but it's really really good. We had the yummiest meal, and then spent the evening running between my parents', my grandmother's and Craig's. On Sunday, my cousin Emily drove us to Old Navy, and I bought... a dress. Can you believe it? hehe. I like it. It's nice and summery. Now I just have to find somewhere to wear it. My mommy made me a belated birthday dinner of homemade fried chicken, potato salad, deviled eggs, baked beans, and pineapple upside-down cake. We then went to see my grandma Mooney, and then to my niece's. She has two little tiny kittens, Crystal and Bear. Crystal was the cuddliest little thing. She laid on Jay's chest and kneaded his face. Bear was really really cute. He laid on his back and I rubbed his itty bitty tummy. Tiny animals are so cute. Later that evening we played poker with Craig and friends, and Jay actually WON money. I was so proud of him. Emily's boyfriend, Jason, had talked trash about how he was gonna take all Jay's money, etc, etc. In the end, he lost all his, and Jay made some. (Craig was the real winner, probably ending up with about $6+ than he started with.) I am pleased that Jay gets along so well with my friends and family. Monday we took it easy and had two meals in 2.5 hours. hehe.

Which brings me to today, when I am very very tired. I will be going to bed soon. :)

With that, I big you goodnight.

OK. This is a blog, so I can publish it and it'll be back online.

Hi Lyndy! :)

Monday, May 21, 2001

Another weekend come and gone, and I'm at work again.

I just want to sleep.

Friday was a rather eventful day at work. Our project manager was "laid off" (read: fired), and it was horribly awkward. If you speak to me much online, you've heard me complain about the man's general incompetence before. He's not a bad man, he just didn't ever find his niche here. It was like your middle-aged parent suddenly deciding they're gonna try to be "cool." It doesn't work (although someone's pointed out that middle-aged parents can be cool, but that to be like that, they'd have to have been cool all along.) Anyhow... none of us knew that it was coming, although I suspected when I saw project manager carrying stuff to his car after lunch. At about 4:30 pm, he comes into my office. He lives in Louisville, 80 miles away.
"I'll be leaving now."
(Not knowing anything's up.) "Um. Ok, drive safely, there's supposed to be storms."
"Yep, I got laid off today."
Awkward silence ensues.
"Oh, I'm sorry..." more silence. "I'm sure you won't have trouble finding anything new... especially closer to home."
"Yep, had no clue it was coming." (GAH! How could he not???)
"I'm really sorry." Thinking, "ohmygod, this is so awkward. I don't know what to do."
FINALLY, he leaves. He proceeds to go around to everyone in the building, and tells them all the same thing. It made us all feel absolutely horrible. First of all, it wasn't like he was close to us all.. If I were in his position, to save face I would have told a few people and gotten my ass out of there. We all knew that he didn't belong here, and that we could run things better without him. Also, we've hired this really great lady we've worked with for years as a client to do accounting stuff, who happens to be a kickass project manager. We'd been complaining non-stop about project manager's general incompetence, but after his goodbyes to everyone, we felt awful. It was sad to see a grown man nearly cry. I'm sure he'll find a job somewhere that he's better at, and somewhere where he fits in better. He never got used to the laid-back atmosphere here, and he tried to fake liking it. I think a guy like that needs more structure, and it's just near impossible for this workplace to provide that. But although it was undoubtedly the right decision for my superiors to make, it was still not a fun thing to witness.

In other news, me, Aimee, and my friend Andrew went to King's Island Saturday. It looked like the weather was going to be unsavory, and it rained pretty hard most of the way to the park. Thankfully, though, it only sprinkled (at the most), the rest of the day, and the evening cleared up enough to give me a bit of a sunburn on my upper chest. We were in line what felt like all day. I think we happened to pick the prime weekend for band/school trips and such, so there were a million and one people there. Two girls cut in line right behind us in one ride, and it really really pissed me and Aimee off. It was a long line, and they got out of 15 minuts to a half hour of it. We really should have said something, but we didn't want to start.

Weirdest occurence of the day:
Aimee, Andrew, and I are standing in line. This little kid, probably about eight years old or so (old enough to make it creepy), slides through one of the bars that separate the lines. He looks at me.
"Can I touch you?"
What the heck?
(of course, my reply was "No." I was suspicious later that him and his brother were going to try to take Andrew's wallet, but he didn't have it on him.)

Anyhow. We picked Jay up after King's Island, and drove the rest of the way back. It was a fun day, and yesterday Jay and I had fun. We saw Shrek after having a dinner of Indian food. (Which was good, but not as good as the stuff we had in Cincinnati.) Shrek was a cute movie, although not worth the marketing hype it got (and didn't it get alot). It had a nice message, though. The end, although predictable, really made me tear up. You could tell the movie had gone through many transformations throughout its existence. There were storylines that didn't quite make sense. It did a good job of making fun of Disney, though.

Wednesday is my birthday. I'll be 25. :) I just thought I'd share.

It's about lunchtime. Goodbye!

Friday, May 18, 2001

I had a dream last night that I was on Friends or Will and Grace or some other sitcom set in NYC. I suppose it was more like Will and Grace, because I remember this situation: We were going to some fancy party or restaurant, and I remembered that my grandmother had a mink coat. I decided to wear it, and Karen (the lush character from Will and Grace made fun of me, because compared to . Great. Now I'm getting ridiculed in my dreams. hehe.

I was very tired last night, after extensively cleaning the house (it needed it.) I finally get in bed at 1 am, and it starts storming. All night long. (And we're not talking Lionel Richie's song. Sidenote: Lionel Richie is my cousin's cousin's cousin and godfather.) I had my window open (my room is evidently the Gateway to Hell, as it's always freaking burning up in there). This morning, I get up, and boot my computer. My computer is under my desk. To my right is the window, and my mouse stand, with phone (note: this "mouse stand" is actually an old organ bench. Thank you.) The computer doesn't recognize the mouse, because it is absolutely drenched. I pick up the phone. It drips. *shakes head* They're both drying out now (with the window closed and a fan turned on them.) It's a new phone, too. I bought it because it has caller ID and I'm tired of answering Aimee's calls (does that make me a bad person?) I caller ID.

I'm rather ticked off. I have recurrent swimmer's ear (not from swimming.. it's been awhile since I've done that), and I finally did the right thing and bought earplugs to wear when I take a shower, and they're ultra-crappy. The water still got in. I'm going to have to find a better pair. I'm tired of waking up in the middle of the night with this severe burning pain in my ear. Ouch. I will buy more earplugs today or something.

Speaking of earplugs, I've been researching the type of earplugs musicians wear when they're performing. I'm thinking of buying a decent pair to take to concerts with me. I can get some for about $30. I know I'm slowly (or maybe not-so-slowly) killing my hearing going to concerts without "protection" (for my ears, you pervert.) If I want a real pair, it'll cost about $150. It might be something I should invest in. Especially with all the ear infections I've been having. Aimee laughs at me when I bring earplugs to concerts, but I go to a lot more shows than her. I don't even wear them most of the time, I just bring them with me. Normal earplugs, however, just muffle... it really takes alot out of the experience. The higher-tech ones actually filter out stuff, but leave some dynamic, non-muffled quality to it. Read about them here.

That's all for now. I'm supposing I should get some work done. Tomorrow, me, Aimee, and Andrew are going to King's Island, and we're bringing Jay back with us from Florence on the way back. We will have fun! Let's hope we don't get stormed on. :) This is my birthday present from Aimee. It'll be cool.

Thursday, May 17, 2001



It's stormy here.

It scares me, but I like it. It's like a horror movie, for most people. You're scared, but in a good way. Except for horror movies don't electrify.

And Jesus, that was a big strike of lightning.



Wednesday, May 16, 2001

Ok, it's too late in the day to start on what I want to at work, so instead I'm going to rant on my blogger.

Recently, I've been reading blog entries by people I know extolling the virtues of illegal drugs. While I'm not going to say all drug use is bad, or that drugs are inherently evil, I do think I'll express some opinion on the matter.

First of all, some personal background. I myself have never used illegal drugs in any form. I have only witnessed the use of them at concerts, and any desire I might have to try any form of illegal drug has been squelched by the fact that I know drug addiction runs in my family. My sister was in rehab for drug and alcohol abuse at age 15. Her use of drugs greatly aggravated her (yet undiscovered) bipolar disorder. They couldn't even do an accurate EEG on her until her brain waves weren't quite so screwed up from excessive marijuana use. "But you can't get addicted to marijuana." Oh, yes, you can. It's nothing but ignorance to believe otherwise. You develop a tolerance to THC (the active ingredient in marijuana), and to get the same high you had before, you have to take more of the drug. Psychologically, it messes with your moods. If you use so much that your standard mood is a happy normal, NOT using often creates a feeling of malaise. You have to use more just to get back to normal. Your baseline mood becomes the artificial normal. When the substance is withdrawn, you dip down to a lower level... below what you used to be. This is confusing as hell, and I'll try to find some info that backs me up sometime tomorrow or later tonight. Read about this study, for one. So yes, my sister was addicted to pot. My brother, as well, was a heavy habitual users of marijuana. He had no motivation, was unemployed (but somehow making money anyhow. Hmm?), and the people that were allowed around his children were not nice people. No, this wasn't all caused by drugs, by any means, but I do strongly believe drugs had a part in all of this.

Which brings me to another point: I know that a lot of people can use drugs (or alcohol) and not be addicted, and have it not negatively effect their lives. For every two or three of those people that I know, though, I know at least one that does have a relationship with drugs or alcohol that has negatively affected them enough times to be an issue. I'm not talking about high school dropouts, white trash, or anything like that. I'm talking about intelligent people. People that have been to college, have graduated, and so on.

Anyhow.

Ok, I understand the concept of "experimenting with drugs." You want to do something to know how it feels. But.. if the outcome is pleasant, then aren't you just going to do it more? There are so many things drugs can screw up. And being educated about a drug and its effects doesn't excuse you from addiction in one form or another. Just because you know what pot or another drug does doesn't mean it's not going to happen to you. You're not going to use it enough so that matters? There are a lot of people that have said the same. As of recently, I've seen blogger entries of people I know extoll the virtues of ecstasy. They take antidepressants to alleviate possible depressive effects, and assume everything's ok. At the same time, I've seen the same person (an acquaintance, who I honestly don't know very well), go through what seems to be extreme mood swings after using the drug. It's possible that these mood swings were always present. But why the heck are you going to introduce something into your body that has the possibility to worsen an already troublesome problem? It feels good to do it, I'm sure, but what about afterwards? All the research in the world doesn't change the fact that using this drug is having bad results. And you can read every study you want to that says it's not THAT harmful, but if you're experiencing a negative effect, then... I just don't get it. I can read a study that says "Fire doesn't burn", but if I put my hand in the fire and come out with blisters, I'm not going to put my hand in the fire again.

And this is not a statement on whether or not I think drugs should be legalized. I see positive and negative points to both sides of the issue, and I'm not sure what I think. Regardless, whether or not they're legal or illegal, they have the same properties.

This is all muddled and stuff, but let me try to state my points a little more clearly:
1) Don't assume drugs are harmless because you've done research, and there's no way you will ever abuse drugs. No one chooses to abuse drugs.
2) If you have a history of mental illness, a family history of mental illness, or a history of drug/alcohol abuse in your family, think twice before you use drugs. There's a genetic predisposition there already set up to work against you. Don't fall into a trap that was set before you were ever born.

This probably sounds preachy, and I'm sorry if it does. But no one forced you to read my blog, so what you get is what you get. hehe. I'm just being honest about how I feel. Obviously, seeing my siblings fight addiction (and my sister try to kill herself by jumping off a cliff while under the influence), this is an emotionally charged issue for me. I hate to see people glamorize drug use, or think that drugs are harmless. Drug use can have very serious consequences, and no one is immune. Don't take it lightly.

Friday, May 11, 2001

I really like the lyrics to this song (and would like to actually hear it someday.)
I think I know a lot of guys like this... that don't fit into the typical male gender stereotype of testosterone and football.

I borrowed these lyrics from www.jian.ca.

"Lousy Boy"
by Jian Ghomeshi

When I was four I thought I was a girl
I had a doll and my hair would curl
My sister let me play with her
Her silly little toy brother
She and Leslie put me in a dress
We all laughed, I was a pretty mess
I found out later that this was wrong
Boys don't dress up if they're gonna belong

And fair is fair
Take a shot if you dare
No guy shies from a fight
On a Thornhill summer night
If a man is a man
When he's got a gun in his hand
Well I never wanted to destroy
I always made a lousy boy

Sometimes you gotta live within your skin
Sometimes you have to take a shot on the chin
Thirteen years old and I didn't wanna get caught
They set the tussle for Mac's parking lot
Me and some kid I was supposed to hate
Two gladiators coming out of grade eight
And every instinct telling me that I should hide
I swallowed hard and I swallowed my pride

And fair is fair
Take a shot if you dare
No guy shies from a fight
On a Thornhill summer night
If a man is a man
When he's got a gun in his hand
Well I never wanted to destroy
I always made a lousy boy

Sometimes I sit and I think back on that night
I've grown some wrinkles but I think I'm alright
Sometimes I'm vulnerable, sometimes I cry
I won't join any tribe living a lie
And I have got guy friends who are just like me
We might dance, we might read poetry
I think in retrospect that I have won
I'm a full grown man and I don't own a gun

And fair is fair
Take a shot if you care
Some guy shies from a fight
On a Thornhill summer night
If a man is a man
When he's got a gun in his hand
Well I never learned to destroy
I always made a lousy boy
I always made a lousy boy

Tuesday, May 08, 2001

My Concert Experience


This weekend Jay and I went to Oberlin, Ohio, to see TMBG. Oberlin is about an hour away from Akron, where we were staying with my uncle (see notes, below.) The show was really a double bill, with SR 71 playing first (they have a song on the radio.) Here are my various notes from the show and the weekend.



  • We got to Oberlin way too early. I didn't know how long it would take to get there, and we got to explore the campus for a bit. It's a really pretty campus, with a pretty cool history. A majorly liberal college. They were big in the abolitionist movement back in the day. There were a lot of people barefoot walking around. I found that really odd. I also saw two separate guys in skirts (not walking together.) That was cool in a weird way. I didn't feel so good (lack of sleep and bad tummy feelings), and was grouchy to Jay. I felt bad about that. Eventually, after walking around for awhile, we walked back to a grassy area by the stadium, put down a blanket, and played cards. We really need to learn more card games for two people. I couldn't even remember how to play Go Fish. hehe.

  • We didn't have tickets, and had to get out of the line to get into the stadium to get them. I feared that we were going to end up with crappy places. We got our tickets and got back in line, probably about 30 people back. When they finally let us in the stadium (at about 1:45, the concert was slated to start at 2), we walked right up the front center (about two people back), and just stood there, no problem. I always worry way too much about this stuff (as Emily will remember, with the Moxy Fruvous show in Boston, when she wasn't 18, for an 18+ show). But it all was fine. However, the stage was in the shade, and it was a wee bit nippy. Jay had given me his long-sleeved shirt to wear, but I could see he was cold.

  • SR 71 - Not a bad band, but such wannabe rockstars. I'm looking at the lead singer and thinking, "That man looks like Bon Jovi." (Click here to see a picture. What makes it more funny is later I learned that SR 71 was opening for Bon Jovi in Cleveland later that evening.) I mean, they reeked of Eau de Marketing. Not that they're Backstreet Boys or N Sync or anything. They worked to get where they are, but now they're on a major label. They made rockstar faces when they played, too. That's cool in a music video, but when you're five feet away, it's so funny. It was all I could do not to laugh. But really, they were entertaining enough. They had groupies, too. Two girls were standing in front of us and to the right. They were borderline skanky, but not really. One looked like Brooke Theiss (Wendy) from Just the Ten of Us. They were all falling over and stuff when they got to meet them afterwards.

  • After SR 71 played, I had Jay hold my place, gave him his shirt back, and went to the car and got my faux-leather jacket (let's hear it for carrying everything ever imagined in the trunk of my car. Blanket, jacket, bouncy ball).

  • The band opening for TMBG was Muckafurgason. They were great. One of the best openers I've seen. They switched instruments about every song. They all played bass, drums, and guitar. Musically, they weren't astounding, but they were so funny they made up for it. I really want to get their cd. They were cute, and one of them was British. Although Jay kept saying the cutest guy was gay. (is not is not is not.) The guy holding the ball is the cute one. Anyhow. My point: If you have a chance to check out these guys, I highly recommend it.

  • And then, the pièce de résistance, TMBG. What can I say? This was my 9th time seeing Them, and it was as good as the first time. I get such an alive feeling during a TMBG concert. I feel young. (not that I feel old otherwise, but I don't feel as energetic). I bounced, danced, and sung along (under my breath. I hate it when people sing too loud at concerts.) Somewhere in the middle of the show it hit me... TMBG was one of the few things that had the power to make me happy when I was going through my period of clinical depression. In a way, it made me sad to remember it, but it also made me realize how far I'd come.. I don't need TMBG to make me happy, or anything else outside of what I have and who I am. But seeing TMBG for the first time since 1999 kicked ass in a major way. And seeing TMBG with Jay was extra-cool. In a roundabout (yet direct) way, it was through They Might Be Giants that we met. I kinda knew Jay through the tmbg.org mailing list, and then Karen (whom I know from the TMBG Offtopic mailing list) suggested that we should talk to each other, since we lived about 80 miles from one another. And that sequence of actions has given me something really really cool in my life, and in a way it all goes back to those two bastiens of quirkiness (HA!), John and John. TMBG is symbolic in my life, somehow. They represent change, for the better. All this from a group that sings about fictitious super heroes, birdhouses, and sleeping in the flowers. My life has been touched in many many ways through the happiness of They Might Be Giants.

  • I digress. After TMBG, Jay and I were so tired. We looked around for Erika and Ryan, but didn't see them. We'd been standing since about two o'clock, and it was nearly six by that point. My feet hurt, I was deaf, and spent (with only three hours of sleep the night before, severe allergy problems, and bad tummy feelings, this was not surprising.) We got in the car and attempted to make our way back to Akron. However, this did not happen as simply as I'd have liked it. Instead, we ended up traveling all over small Ohio towns, looking for major routes. Finally, I stopped at a gas station where a very nice lady helped me find the interstate, and we eventually found our way back (not quite as easily as I would have liked, still.) We stopped at some restaurant called "Country Kitchen". I didn't care what kind of food I had, as long as it was food. Our meals were rather disappointing, but I didn't care. I just wanted FOOD. I had smoked pork chops, which tasted like ham. I only ate about 3/4 of one, and some mashed potatoes and gravy. Jay had a lopsided chicken sandwich. I was so thirsty (and this carried over to the next day, where I drank about 60 oz. of soda in three hours.) As tired as I was, I knew if we stayed at Uncle Don in Akron, I wasn't going to get any sleep at all. We instead decided to drive back to Florence and stay at Jay's. We played Truth or Dare without the Dare (basically, asking weird questions. hehe. "If someone paid you a million dollars, would you eat blah blah blah?") But we kept that up for like four hours on our way back to Florence. All my misdirected travels have made me decide I definitely need an atlas in my car. I will buy one soon.

  • The next day we just hung out at Jay's. We played games, went to the mall to buy Lizzy birthday presents, and stuff like that. It was fun and calming. hehe. I'm really glad we didn't stay overnight in Akron. That would have been so so so horrid.


And that was my weekend adventure. In a few weeks, Jay and I are going home to WV for Memorial Day weekend. I look forward to that. It'll be a lot of fun. And Grandma will be happy to see Anastasia, I'm sure.

Au revoir.

Monday, May 07, 2001

Lessons from this weekend:


1) Do not buy generic sunscreen. This was a big mistake. Aimee and I were at K Mart the other night so she could fill a prescription. We're going by the sunscreen aisle, and I was in need of sunscreen. Geez, it's like $7 for some Coppertone. So I think, "I'll just buy some generic. It's all the same." Ok, no big deal. I put it on Saturday morning, before the show. It felt kinda heavy, but I didn't really think much of it. Then Jay looks at me. "You look like Data from Star Trek." The lotion was so greasy it left me with an interesting... sheen. It finally was absorbed, but my skin felt totally icky. I think it made me break out.

2) Do not visit relatives while they're moving. Our timing was so totally off. And our beds were pushed together, and we're not used to that, and neither of us slept well (although it is nice to be able to hold Jay's hand while I'm laying there awake because every step above me was a loud loud creak like a large large parade.)

3) Get directions to and from your destination. I failed to do this, and we were lost around Oberlin looking for an interestate for a good long time, and then trying to leave Akron forever. This probably added 2 hours or so to our travel time that day, when we decided to drive back to Florence (a four hour or so drive) that night.

4) Allergy medication is your friend (or would be if you had taken it.) Apparently, I'm super-allergic to some tree in Oberlin that drove me crazy. I've never had such an allergy attack. I was tearing so bad it looked like I was crying.


Don't let all of that let you think I had a bad time. I had a wonderful time, and I will blog on that later. It was great seeing TMBG, seeing my uncle, and spending time with Jay. YAY!

Jay and I got to Oberlin, the college it was at, way earlier. It was outdoors at tthis tiny football stadium... they wouldn't let us in until after 1:30, and it was 11:15.
Se walked around the campus, a lot of it deserted.
We were walking back towards the stadium, on a sidewalk. There were two guys coming our age.. They looked like college guys. Khakis, plaid shirts, chucks.
We pass them, and as we do, it dawns on me, "THAT'S JOHN LINNELL!"
I was like.. "ohmygod, ohmygod" and I start swooning.
So as i'm swooning, Jay's says, "Huh?"
I say, "We just passed my future husband."
"What?"
"Jay, that was John Linnell!!!!"

Wow, my brush with true beauty (Well, I have brushes with true beauty whenever I see Jay. But outside of that.)