What makes someone your friend? What makes someone worth the time to get to know them so they can be your friend?
I've been thinking about the nature of friendship, and the nature of humans. Traditionally, I get along with a lot of "difficult" people. I always figured it might be a little bit more work maintaining such a friendship, but you get the reward of a truly unique individual as a friend. It's the nature of people's personalities and how much they expose that either make a friendship work, or make it easy (or hard). Deep down, I believe most people are decent humans. But we all have a shell, of sorts. Some people have thicker shells, consisting of arrogance, surliness, obnoxiousness, etc. A lot of times, if you work through these "shells", you see the true person inside, and you see the reasons for their actions: low self-esteem, etc. I think as we get to know ourselves better, more of our true selves shine through.
Is this making any sense?
Anyhow, my point is... I'm getting more and more annoyed with people's "shells". I'm tired of trying to look for the good person underneath the layers of utter crap that surround some people. I just don't have the patience for it. I've spent a lot of my life "working" with people.. putting up with being treated badly, after having convinced myself that there'd be a big payoff in the end: The person would "find themselves", and then it'd all be ok. There'd be no reason for the arrogance, surliness, whatever. I've come to the realization that alot of people will never "find themselves." (I hate to use such a trite phrase.) They'll always be plagued with self-doubt, and it shows on the outside, in how they treat others. I know who
I am, and I don't want to spend my life helping others figure out who
they are.
I guess part of what I'm saying is that I don't want to be around people that make me uncomfortable, either through their actions towards others or their actions towards me. Shyness I can deal with.. it's not abject rudeness. But when you feel you have to watch out for a friend, defend them in their absence.. it's just not worth it. Of course, everyone goes through phases where they have problems, and I'm not about to condemn anyone for being a little flaky... God knows I was for a very long time (and still am, to a degree.)
I never had to "discover" what was inside my two best friends, Aimee and Jay. I met Aimee in 9th grade. I knew she was a nice person when she asked me, a new student, to sit with her in Honor Society. There was no arrogance, insolence, contempt, or anything there. Our friendship has had its ups and downs, but I never have said, "I don't know who she is inside." Even when I find her actions questionable, I know that she's the same person she always was. With Jay, it was the same way. From the first day we met, in person, I found him charming and entertaining. My opinion of him has not changed (for the worse) as I've gotten to know him better. There was an instant connection, and I felt at ease with him at once. As our relationship has progressed, it's been so... relatively easy. With my former boyfriends, there's always been an undercurrent of tension (and we're not talking sexual tension) that has soured the relationship. I've always felt the need to defend them, and their actions. "He's a good guy, deep down, really. He means the best..." With Jay, there is no "deep down." He's just a good guy. I don't have to defend him. He's shy, sure, but that's it. He's never treated me badly. We have fun together, and it's great.
It makes me think of something Aimee mentioned to me a long time ago... we were driving down Richmond Road, in Lexington, talking about relationships. I think this was shortly after one of my breakups with someone after a short courtship. Aimee said, "You shouldn't have to
work at a relationship." I all but laughed at her at the time.. of
course you have to work at a relationship... otherwise, it'd fall apart. Now I see that Aimee was right (at least mostly). A good, solid relationship shouldn't require tons of "work". It should come naturally. Of course, you have to communicate, etc. But a real relationship doesn't
have to be filled with tension and bad feelings. If the feelings aren't mostly good, why are you
in the relationship in the first place? (Of course, ever relationship might have their crisis periods.. and everyone has their ups and downs. Sometimes one person needs more than the other person, sometimes it's the opposite. It's give and take. But generally, I think it should balance out.)
And so I think alot of this conjecture and reasoning that goes along with romantic relationships applies to friendships as well. It shouldn't be a constant battle, or dread over seeing someone, or fear that someone will make an ass out of themselves on a constant basis. Allowing for ups and downs, of course. We seek out friends because we want companionship, and love (of sorts.) We don't seek out friends to make us feel
bad. (I am an italics fiend today.)
I guess for a lot of people it's hard to know when to burn bridges (myself included.) When does the friendship cross that line between more negativity than positive feelings? With years of history between you, how can you cut someone out of your life? It's not an easy decision to make. But rarely does it have to be a
final decision. I've refound some connections with people that I'd put out of my life for one reason or another. The friendships aren't as strong, but really, they can't be. The reasons that you took the person voluntarily out of your circle of existence still are there, and people don't change that much. And if I've had my integrity, honesty, or intelligence severely insulted, I'm going to want to think twice before approaching that person again.
I've completely lost my point here. It started out about how everyone has a shell, or a wall around them. I've just lost my patience with walls. Maybe I seem like more of a recluse than I used to be. Maybe I am. Maybe that's irrelevant. I'm happy to have the close friends that I do. But I refuse to take crap from anybody anymore. :)
(please don't read this as me being mad or angry with anyone in particular, it's not about that. I'm just stating thoughts I've been having as of late.)