Last night, I smashed my middle finger.
A half hour later, I rammed my elbow into a light switch. "Ow!" I thought. Then I sat down at my computer, and I was bleeding.
I'm a danger to myself. I should be locked up in a soft, padded room. :)
So what else is going on? This weekend Jay will be here to prepare for his move... we're going to go buy basic household items. He moves to Lexington the next weekend (and school starts a week and a half after that.) It's gonna be fun! I'm very excited.
Stupid apartment issue of the week: When the place Jay's renting the apartment from (We'll call them Stookbrone) had an apartment open, I had to run down a money order to them, for a deposit. When I did that, I made the money order out to the name of management company (let's call them Small Homes), and the apt. complex, Stookbrone. Small Homes/Stookbrone. Yesterday, the apartment manager called both Jay and I back. The bookkeeper wouldn't submit the money order the bank, because, "The bank wouldn't accept it." WHAT BULLSHIT! Any bank would accept a money order like that. What kind of idiot accountant do they have working for them? Evidently, one of the highest idiot grade. If you rated idiots like you rate alcohol, that accountant would be 180 Proof.
So anyhow, to continue the saga.. I go to the bank, so I can get a new money order. I had deposited money via the ATM the day before, and although it let me withdraw $100 then, it told me the funds were "on hold." I couldn't get out the money for the money order, and to make it worse, the bank manager going over all this is a chick we play soccer against. I don't want her knowing my personal finances (although I
was relieved to finally realize where I knew her from. That was killing me. I knew she was familiar, but I didn't know how.) Finally, I went to the Stookbrone apartment office, and told them the situation, and that I'd be back the next day with the money order. Their office smells like dog poop. It's scary. I really hope Jay's apartment doesn't smell like that. hehe. (and if it does, it
will be taken care of. Ew.)
And on another, unrelated note... it deeply saddens me to see people "grow up", and lose their sense of values. Often, we make decisions when we're younger, based on good logic (often, we don't. I'm not talking about those decisions.) We decide not to drink, or do drugs, or screw around for reasons: We know too many people that are drunk more than sober, who've got the short-term memory capacity of a carrot and are burnt out for life, or a friend who's pregnant at 15. We have family members who have used and abused drugs, and we know the genetic capacity to pass on such a trait. I just don't understand the decision making process that makes someone go from "I've seen how drugs have hurt my family/friends/friends' family/etc." to "Getting high... now that's cool." "Sex can wait until I'm ready" to "Hey, you, here, now." It's not easy to learn from others' mistakes, but I always am so pleased when it seems a younger person has done that. When all those good, valid decisions go out the window, it makes me sad for them. Not only have are they cheating theirselves, they're very possibly
hurting themselves.
It's just like when you take a standardized test: Sometimes, the first decision is the best. You should always go back and review your work, but you're not going to change the answer unless another answer is better.
1. Which vegetable is orange and crunchy?
a) celery
b) potato
c) carrot
d) cucumber
Five minutes later:
1. Which vegetable is orange and crunchy?
a) celery
b) potato
c) carrot
d) cucumber
Kids, if your celery is orange, you've got problems.
Bad analogy OVER.