The numbered list format, yet again.
1) You know, when you're reading a decorating book, and they tell you to do all these things that just seem unnecessary, so you go ahead and leave out some stuff, because surely that's only for worrywarts? When the book says if you're using more than one gallon of the same color to mix them together, and then separate them again, it
means it.
Jay and I had decided to paint the living room a color called "laurel". Picture a warmish earthy green, not too dark. We realize we'll need two gallons, and they mix two gallons for us at Lowe's. We open the first gallon and paint the borders of the room; up near the ceiling, around the outlets, near the baseboards. We use up that whole gallon somewhere around the middle of the first coat. We pop open the second gallon, finish the first coat, and add a second coat. We go away, and let it dry. We come back, and there are marks and streaks all over the room. It looked uneven and patchy. We gaze at it. We think. Scratch our chins, etc. Finally, I have an idea. "This is a wonderful time to try some of those faux paint techniques I've been dying to try out.
Ragging off sounds simple and easy. We buy a slightly darker color to use, mix it with a glaze, and go to work. Now time for Mistake #2 of the day. Glaze was expensive; about $10 a pint for the cheapest stuff. It says to mix four parts glaze to one part paint. But we had a gallon of paint, and only a quarter amount of the glaze, so we do it backwards. At this point, I'm not realizing that the point of the paint is to tint the glaze, not to make the paint look glazy. Jay rolls on the glaze mixture, and I start rolling a cloth down the wall taking some of it off. It looks ok, but the paint starts to clump and make bumps on the wall. Instead, I take the wet rag and throw it at the wall. It makes some neat patterns. We continue on. The first section starts to dry. Guess what? You can't see where I've thrown the rag at the wall. Instead, it just looks like a horribly uneven paintjob. GAH! After all that, we gave up. We're just going to paint the living room the darker color, now. We had to tape again, I'll have to buy more paint, etc. What a pain in the butt. Which teaches us a Valuable Lesson: Follow the book. You are not Martha Stewart. And apparently, neither am I.
2) I got into work today to find my
impatiens sad and wilted. Usually, impatiens shoots are about 6 inches long. Mine were about two feet. I hadn't watered it enough, so I watered it, and decided it was time for a haircut. I gave it the houseplant equivalent of the buzz cut. It just has a few very short shoots left now. The plant has to be about 20 years old or so. It was time for a bit of a change for it. It should bounce back with vigor, and hopefully actually bloom some (mine was "leggy", and evidently leggy impatiens don't bloom much.) It just awes me the way that you brutalize plants to get them to grow for you. Tear off their buds, cut them to pieces, etc. Gardening is a cruel hobby.
3) When we did our inspection of the house, we noticed a bird's nest up where the gutter pulls away from the house a bit. We left it there, of course, and now we are the proud companions to a mommmy robin and about four or five baby birds. They're adorable. They sit in the next with their mouths open, and when mommy flies up tweet urgently at her. I will try to get the digital camera from work to take some pictures. I just hope the cats don't give them little birdy heart attacks, staring at them drooling out the window all day.
4) And what about the cats? They're still fighting like cats.. and... err... cats. Last night Sophie and Eleanor teamed up on Anastasia. Hopefully they'll love each other soon. I'm scared to leave them together while we're at work, for fear we'll come back to piles of bloody cat or something.
That's all for now. As of today I have a phone yet again! whoo hoo!