colleenanne

Monday, March 29, 2004

Blah blech blah blah blaaaaaaah.

That summarizes the past 30 hours pretty well.

I was having an ok Saturday. Aimee and I saw Jersey Girl while Jay saw Dawn of the Dead. Afterwards, we drop Jay off, and Aimee and I go to the outlet mall in Georgetown. I get back home about 7:20. Jay says, "Uh, we have to go somewhere. My (insert close relative whom we shall call Betty) is in the hospital in ICU. They think she overdosed on her medications." Fuck. Another family member in ICU.

We get there, and Betty's delirious (which really was humorous, out of context.) She'd taken a handful of Effexor (an antidepressant), Zoloft, about ten naproxen (Aleve), allergy medicine, and a good deal of antipsychotic medication. Some friend of hers from school brought her in, and they weren't really sure what she took. Jay and I gave them her psych history (which is long and extended, to go along with her personality traits of being an overt overachiver who's incredibly brilliant). We managed to get her to tell us what all she'd taken, and we tell the nurse. We sit with her and converse for about an hour, and Jay's mom and brother show up. Today she was fine (just really shaky), and there are no long term effects. They've admitted her to an inpatient facility (one she's been in before).

I was just so pissed off at myself. She came over to do laundry on Tuesday. She hadn't slept in two nights (save three hours a few days prior), and I could tell she was headed down a bad path. I was going to tell her mom, and I didn't. In retrospect, I should have, but I'm not sure it'd make any difference. Betty's adept at saying what she should to make people think she's fine. But she has been completely shutting her family out of all this. On Friday she'd had a friend from school take her to a psych hospital. They were very non-supportive, and said, "What do you want us to do, hold your hand?" She felt like a moron and left, then took the pills a bit afterwards. If she'd just called me in the first place, we could have called around and found who could take her, and worked out some stuff before she would have to resort to taking handfuls of prescription medications. While she's worked pretty hard on her problems in the past, she hasn't changed her lifestyle at all to stop the problems from re-occurring. Some people need structure, and you have to take care of yourself first. That means not staying up all night helping someone else with their presentation, or joining every campus ministry available, or doing plays and whatnot. Now the college will probably kick her out (she was on thin ice after an incident in November), and she'll lose her full scholarship. It's been hard. I've been back and forth between the hospital and Florence (about 80 miles) taking Jay's mom home, and just generally majorly stressed. I might write more about this later. For now, I'm just tired, and my eyes are so allergified I feel like there are huge boulders in both of them.

Friday, March 19, 2004

As of 1:07 AM on Friday March 19, I've been on AIM for 20 days, 6 hours, and 43 minutes.

This will all go away tomorrow, when I go to WV, and I will disconnect myself. But that long without a reboot or any problems? Not bad.

Tuesday, March 09, 2004

We've moved it into the basement, and I've been playing my lovely new piano. I LOVE IT!

I'd like to thank Liz for providing it, and for removing that nasty board with the nails from my garage.

I was playing "Chim Chim Cheree", and of course (well, obvious to some of you) I started thinking "Jim Kimm-er-lee, Jim Kimm-er-lee, Jim Kim-er-leeee." hehe. It's still my favorite Disney song ever, even if it does remind me of a red-bearded red-headed Westerner whenever I play it.

Thursday, March 04, 2004

Did I remove the board with the nails in it from the garage last night?

No.

Did I wear shoes when I went into the garage?

No.

Did I step on the nail again, this time with my big toe?

Yes.

It's official. I'm a dumbass.

Wednesday, March 03, 2004

1) I began the painting process today by priming, after cleaning and spackling the walls yesterday. It's hard work. My fingers hurt. I don't know if I'm going to start the actual painting tomorrow or not.

2) GAH! I really wanted to see Carbon Leaf at The Dame. Aimee was going to go with me, but she was sick. I decided I'd go by myself. I drive all the way downtown, and go to look for my license in my wallet so I can get in. No dice. It's just not there. I tried to get the guy at the front to let me in without it, but he said although he believed I was over 21, he couldn't let me in without ID. So I came home and did a frantic search, turning up absolutely nothing. It's lost. I missed the show. Dammit, it was cheap and I really like Carbon Leaf. I missed the Guster show tonight in Lexington (tickets were too expensive, I have no job.) I will miss the Barenaked Ladies show here in Lexington because once again, tickets cost an arm and a leg. I will see Great Big Sea and The Push Stars in April, possibly Cracker in April, and Ani Difranco in early May. I wanted instant gratification, though.

3) When I was searching the garage for painting supplies in my bare feet, I stepped on a tiny nail that was part of the backing for some shelves or a bookcase or something. It hurt. It went straight up into my heal. I've done this probably four times in the past, on the same nail. I completely forgot about it, but didn't realize why my foot was hurting tonight. It kind of worries me... I don't remember it hurting like that before. Two questions remain: Why didn't I wear shoes in the garage? and Why haven't I thrown that *$#*&$%*!~ piece of cardboard away yet?

Monday, March 01, 2004

Ok, not to display my utter geekiness to the public... but...

ohmygod! I can't believe that the chick from Average Joe II: Hawaii, Larissa, picked the non-average guy, Gil! The average guy, Brian, was so nice and really into her, and they had so much more chemistry than that other guy. And I thought I was going to die when he left her during their three day getaway when she told him that Fabio was her ex-boyfriend. She deserved it, but who the hell cares if she dated Fabio? It made me laugh.

HA HA HA! I HAVE A PIANO!!!!!!!!

Much thanks to Liz, who is allowing me to have her piano in exchange for funds to be paid when I have a job. It's a pretty nice piano, too. It needs tuned, but it has a good sound and it's MINE MINE MINE!

Pianos make me happy! I played it for about half an hour eariler, just zoning out and playing random scales and notes and stuff. I plan to get out my very beginner book and work on some using the proper fingers for the proper notes, rather than the haphazard way I play now.

This weekend I helped Liz and Patrick move and paint, and lost and regained my voice several times. I saw Eurotrip yesterday, and I found it surprisingly good. I recommend it.

Right now I'm prepping the downstairs for painting, which is fun fun fun. I just cleaned the walls, and now I'm going to go caulk and spackle between the panels (I'm painting over wood paneling.) whoo hoo!