colleenanne

Thursday, December 28, 2000

I have a big ol' boo-boo on my knee from soccer.. I fell and scraped it and bruised ribs.. it's about 4 inches across, 3 inches down. OUCH OUCH OUCH OUCH OUCH. Thank goodness for really big bandaids. If I ever have a band, that'd be a good name (although I'm still big on the name "Geek Shame"... That'd be a good band name.)
Jay's going home with me for New Year's... we're going out on New Year's Eve with my parents for their 35th anniversary. Who knows what we'll do after that.
I've been on a Christmas holiday shopping spree with the money I got from my grandma for Christmas. Let's hear it for after Christmas sales! I've got lots of shirts and socks and a nice new watch. And Wal Mart had their cooke crunch candles (the votives) on sale for 10 cents a piece. I plan to buy lots, they smell so incredibly yummy. Like cookies!
I will now go put my clothes in the dryer.
yay. g'night.

Sunday, December 24, 2000

Reason #198458 that I adore Jay:

Jay: "Sometimes, when I walk past Catherine [his kittycat] lying in the sunlight, she'll meow at me, like she wants me to lay down in the sun with her."

Me: "Do you?"

Jay: "Well, yeah..."

We've opened our Christmas presents already (more on that.)
Here's what I got:

  • A 13" TV for my bedroom
  • money from my grandma
  • a candle stand
  • Sloan's 4 Nights at the Palais Royale
  • Bonne Belle (3) with Special Edition Picture Frame
  • a battery-operated fingernail groomer
  • a shirt
  • gloves
  • Jim Beam cooking sauces (bbq, chicken wing, steak sauce, etc.)
  • Assorted flavors of cocoa.
  • other assorted stuff, plus what Jay and Aimee and her parents got me!

The reason we open all our presents on Christmas Eve.. when we were little, Santa brought us presents on Christmas morning, and Christmas Eve was reserved for family presents. Well, eventually, Santa got phased out (damn that downsizing), and my family, who ,are eternal night people and hate mornings, moved everything up until Christmas Eve. And now, we do all the glory on the Eve, and just relax on the day of Christmas. No late nights assembling toys for my parents, and we can all sleep in! YAY! In fact, my parents close the evening with, "The first person to wake us up in the morning DIES!" hehehe.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

Wednesday, December 20, 2000

Blogspot's been down for days, so I couldn't blog. I guess I'll post now and publish later. Blech.
I had a very very good weekend, with Jay. He got me the cutest kittycat, as pictured to the right, there. It came with a name, but I've chosen to call it Roosevelt, instead, for reasons too secretive and too unknown even to myself that I can't explain. He also got me a very nice, pretty necklace and bracelet set made with hematite beads and the coolest blue beads. I love it! :) He liked the briefcase I got him, too, and the Powerpuff Girls Bubbles keychain I got him (so much that he went and bought the other two so he could have a matching set. hehe.) He also finally found his Gremlins Furby at Wal-Mart, to the tune of $30. It's cute, but annoying (as Furbies tend to be.)
Last night me and Aims unwrapped our Christmas presents... she got me the new Jill Sobule cd (Pink Eraser), some Bonne Bell, and some cool press-on sparkly thingies. I'll be so Gwen Stefani! ;) Her parents got me a great Vanilla Cookie scented Yankee candle and a cute little Tigger snow globe.
You know, it was really nice having Jay around. I like waking up in the morning and having someone to snuggle with, and someone to give me hugs. I was in a way better mood than I usually am on Monday.
I go home tomorrow for Christmas. Let's hope my family doesn't drive me crazy. I'll take Anastasia to stay with my grandma. My grandmother loves that cat like nobody's business.
Ok, random interlude: I don't care if -insertnameofpersonhere- is trying to make himself look all hot and stuff. AND I DON'T WANNA TALK ABOUT MY ROOMMATE!
Today we're having our potluck at work. I brought peanut butter rice krispy treats.. they're taunting me from across the room.. "Colleen.... LOVE ME! EAT ME!" But I will resist. MUST RESIST!
hehe. They're tempting little devils.
'tis snowing here AGAIN. It's been doing it for over a week now. I had to take Jay home a day later than I was supposed to, which meant he missed a day of work. And the roads were ten times worse the day I did take him home than they would have been the night before. oh, well.
The pond outside is frozen and snowed over. It's a very Christmas-y scene. I wish I felt good enough to go play in it. But no, I'm sick AGAIN. This time, I think it's a cold (the fifth round of antibiotics isn't doing anything, and it feels like a cold.) I'm really starting to get concerned about my immune system. It sucks, evidently.
Until later...

Friday, December 15, 2000

I really need to watch where I link this thing from.
Just a note: I will probably be changing the URL for this sometime in the near future. To something others can't guess. Not that I think they will, but I don't want to risk anything.
I get Jay for the entire weekend. I hope he likes his Christmas present.
BLah blah blah. I have nothing of value to say. :)

Thursday, December 14, 2000

I hate people when they're too polite...

Maybe that's part of my problem with my project manager. The man grates on my every nerve. It's unbelievable.
Like.. if I sneeze in the privacy of my own office, he says, "Bless you."
You cannot pass him in the hallway without him saying, "Hey!" (really, if you must recognize someone you've seen 20 times during the day, a smile will do.)
I know, there are a lot worse aspects a person could have.. but I feel like the man is assuming a level of familiarity with me I'm just not comfortable with. He just doesn't fit in here, and his attempts to do so are inappropriate, and I think it keeps us from respecting him. As it is now, we have no real leadership here. He should be the leadership, but the man has about as much savvy as a two-headed dog with mange (I have no earthly clue where that came from.)
It's like he's read this book on "how to manage effectively and get along with your employees" by some third-rate hack. Well, the tactics he's using aren't working, and are damn annoying. I feel like I have no privacy... I realize this is work, and company time, and I shouldn't have total privacy.. but I feel that my personal mental space is invaded. If it makes any sense.
And I feel bad, because I'm the one who insisted we hire a project manager. A lot of good thatdid me.

And if I have to talk about Aimee one more time with her man, I'm gonna go ballistic.

If you haven't figured it out yet, you can click the top line of this blog (and the one down below that's highlighted.)

A fictional letter

Dear Kevin's dog:

Your brand new courtship with Kevin Nyne has recently come to my attention, and should like to wish you a long and happy life - any day that a pet finds its caretaker is a joyous day, indeed! Why, I can still recall the day that I was united with my dearest Spot: he and I still are the best of friends, as your master can no doubt attest.

However, in the interest of all involved, I feel that I should warn you about a certain habit of Mr. Nyne that has begun in him interpersonal relationships, and may carry over into what he shares with you. You see - he suffers from what may be considered a chronic deficiency of attention; he grabs it at every chance, and does not mind a bit of healthy manipulation to wrest it from the attentions of any unwary acquaintance.

So I beg you: do not be surprised if, sometime in the future, several other dogs show up at your door, and Kevin hides you all at separate corners of the house and pretends to love each of you best. Why - if the objects of his current affections are any indication, you probably won't even notice.


Best regards at your good fortune,

Phoebe Mills

Tuesday, December 12, 2000

Look at all these tiny things bothering me...
And how true.
I've got to get over letting little stupid things get to me.

  • I can't stand bad drivers that get in front of me and drive horribly.

  • I can't deal with co-workers masquerading as friends because they're dating my roommate and want someone to talk to. Suddenly, after barely speaking to me for over a year, I'm you're favorite confidante? And this is my best friend you're dating... like I'm not going to tell her what you say. And I don't care that you pierced your tongue! And I especially don't care what you plan to do with said pierced tongue.

  • I am sick of our system administrator thinking he's GOD. He's NOT! He's so far from it it's pitiful. You shouldn't get a power trip telling me that you're going to cut off my email, my DSL connection, and hang my cat. It's sickening to see him kiss up to the President/boss of the company. I guess when you have a girlfriend as horridly overbearing as his, you have to get power somewhere. He manages the soccer team since our receptionist Amy left. We have few girl players, but we have to have two on the field at all times. That makes it necessary to recruit as many females as possible, since there are only two at MaxWeb, and I'm the only one playing. But because Cheryl can't come to late games, he gets all bitch-ass.. "Well, she just shouldn't play." Um. We need whatever girls we can get whenever we can get. None of this, "Let me show my power! BWAHAHA!" Whatever. If he keeps this up, I'll quit the team, and make it quite clear why I quit the team. There are plenty of co-ed teams that need chicks, I'll play for one of them.

  • My project manager is an idiot. The man couldn't find his ass with both hands. I've been the one working on the MaxWeb site redesign. I haven't had too much time for it lately, so it's on the backburner. Rather than ask me when I would have time to work on it (answer: very soon), he told Allen to work on it. Uh.. he's not touched the site at all, has no clue about the architecture OR the programming. Sure, let's throw him in the middle of it so it can be crap. When I take a project on, I like to make it mine. That's hard to do when someone's taking it from you and giving it away. It's poor communication, and bad practice. Continuity is important. This is how screwups get made.

  • The wind kept me up last night until like 3 am. It was scaring the hell out of me. I didn't get the sleep I needed as a result. :( I must get more sleep soon! Blah!


And now I will make my lunch. Let's hear it for Stouffer's.

Monday, December 11, 2000

It's been awhile since I've blogged...
Well, I don't have tuberculosis. That's a good sign, right?
What else has been happening... let's see. Let's start with last night.

I went to my friend Cheryl's grandparents' Christmas party. How utterly surreal. They're really big into the folk dance/music scene, and the entire thing was Martha Stewart... people standing around singing Christmas carols with accompaniment, etc. We got there late (Cheryl didn't realize what time it started), so we stayed after everyone had left. The house had been built to accomodate parties and dances, so they all started doing different dances... then her grandmother gets out 5 sets of top hats and canes (they had several more sets, as well), and we learned a dance to New York, New York. It was all very very weird. Fun, but weird. There was also a rocking horse over 6 feet tall. That was a damn cool rocking horse.
Friday night Anne-Marie had a Christmas get-together. It was pretty fun, although I feel I was kinda quiet. We made eggrolls (hundreds of them, I think), and some traditional Philipino chicken stuff. It had garlic in it, and I crushed the garlic. I could NOT get the garlic smell no matter what I did, the entire weekend. However, I did discover that rubbing salt on your wet hands gives you very smooth hands. hehe. Anne had a friend there named David Turner, whom I was convinced was a gay ex-marine. Turns out that that was all a big joke. I feel very gullible now. It's not like anyone was intentionally trying to dupe me, but I was nonetheless. There was a lot of wine at the party, which I can't drink, because of the medicine I'm on. *shrug* No big deal.

Saturday I went to see Jay, and it was a lot of fun... we went out to dinner, to see Bedazzled (the movie with Brendan Fraser and Elizabeth Hurley.. not a bad movie), and bowling. :) We also hung out at his house. Now, I know his cats like me.. but I was evidently the cat lady on Saturday. Eleanor licked my nose when I was just lying there (after she was wagging her tail.. she was having delusions of doghood, I think.) Catherine was sitting on my lap, all cuddling me and nuzzling me, and she walked on the back of the chair and starts nuzzling my hair.. gently at first, as if she was trying to put her scent on me.. then she got more and more insistent about her nuzzing.. and then she tried to eat my hair. Evidently, the conditioner I use is a kitty stimulant of some sort. I checked to see if it has catnip in it.. it has a mint substance in it that might be similar to catnip. It was all cute, though. hehehehe.

I got Jay and Aimee's respective presents on Friday, but I won't say what they are because of concerns about them finding out somehow. hehe. I had to go have a chest X Ray Friday, and after that I went to pick up my refund from the water company (Finally!) I took it down to Aimee so she could sign it over to me, and then took it to the bank, and then went to the mall. hehe. Work, schmork!

And now I will return to work. blech.

Tuesday, December 05, 2000

So I am sick again.
I know, it just seems like I whine alot... but I've been sick for two months now, and it's getting OLD. I got to go to Dr. Dubocq today (my old doctor who I couldn't go to anymore until we changed insurance)... he's baffled why I haven't responded to the antibiotics I've been given, so he gave me a TB test when I told him that Aimee tests positive, but doesn't have it. That worries me. So does the fact my entire arm hurts where they gave me the test, which it's not supposed to. I have to check in a few days and see if I've got weird bumps on my arm. If by some freak of nature I would have tuberculosis, I'd have to go into the hospital for two weeks to a month.
:( I really hope not. Until the test results show themselves, I will take the new medicine the doctor gave me and hope that I get better!

Sunday, December 03, 2000

Revelation of the week:
All over-the-counter sleep aids are is Benadryl. ALL OF THEM. Sominex. Nytol. Tylenol PM. Nyquil. It's all the active ingredient we most commonly know as Benadryl. I feel cheated.

Revelation of the week, part II:
Kentucky is evidently unaware of the concept of salting the roads in bad weather. When I left Lexington yesterday for Florence, it'd snowed here an inch or so. I got about 10 miles out of Lexington, and nothing. There was no snow from there to Florence. So I didn't think I'd have any trouble coming back. Yeah, whatever. About 30 miles north of Lexington, there was snow, and a good deal of it, on the roads, and it was still coming down. It didn't appear that it'd been salted at all. I was driving gripping the steering very very tightly. It was not a fun experience.

I saw Unbreakable last night. It was actually pretty darned good.

I am now more blonde, thanks to the highlight lady. It looks good, I think. Pretty darn blonde. :)

My throat hurts. I refuse to be getting sick again.

I think I had more to say but I don't know what, so enough for now.

Friday, December 01, 2000

Beth was visitor number 666.

She's the Visitor of the Devil.

Beth = evil? Next, on Nightline.