GAH! I am so annoyed.
I've been waiting forever to get my new crown put on. I've had a temporary on there since like October. He's taken two or three molds of the tooth, and I was supposed to have it put on today. I get to the office this afternoon (after taking off of work to do so) and the dumbass lady tells me that my appointment is cancelled. This is the second or third time this has happened. SHe said, "I tried to call your work number, I called three or four times and left messages." I look at the work number she has down: MaxWeb. Dammit, it's a year almost to the day that I haven't worked there, and I'd guess that SOMEONE would mention that I don't work there AND THE COMPANY NO LONGER EXISTS! LIke why the hell didn't she just call me at home? I really think her IQ is on the low side of normal, at the very least.
So anyhow. Whew.
I started classes about two weeks ago. I think I'm going to like them all, except for the EThics text boring me to death (the class doesn't seem too bad.) I was surprised that I really love Mental Health Policy, as I really hated it's predecessor, Social Work Policy. Right now we're discussing stigma and how that creates barriers to obtaining mental health services. Stigma is one of my big soapboxes, so I'm really excited. Yes, I'm a dork, and I'm aware of this fact.
It's nice to see all of my schoolfriends again. I know everyone in all my classes, save about six people. I really like my new job, too. I have so much more real responsibility than I did at my last job. I'm a lot more involved in everything, and they actually CARE if I learn. That definitely did not happen at the last job. If I volunteered that I was learning something, I got a blank stare. Dammit, they're part of a university, and I think they should have a RESPONSIBILITY to make sure their research assistants learn. That's the point of a university: to teach others. I went to a seminar last week on proving people with disabilities with proper services, and how to affect change. We introduced ourselves, and the director remembered meeting me, which I thought was pretty cool.
I'm doing work with SPSS right now, which is a statistical package. I still have more to learn about it, but I really love it. It's fun. And once again, yes, I realize I'm a dork.
Oh, congratulations to Emily for passing her licensure exam! She is now a licensed social worker in the state of Ohio. This should make finding a job easier. YAY!
I think I'm out of stuff to say, which is kind of sad. School gets back in session, and *POOF*, all thought independent of social work (and anger at dentistry) is gone.